Better known as the New Vehicle Buyer Protection Act, Illinois’ lemon law protects vehicle buyers. In this guide, you’ll learn what to do when you end up driving home in a lemon.
Is It Covered?
For your vehicle purchase to be covered, lemon law used cars must:
- Be purchased in the state of Illinois
- Have issues that significantly affect its safety, market value, or use
- Have been out of service for 30 business days or longer
- Show issues that haven’t been resolved after at least four repair attempts
- Have had attempted repairs within the first 12,000 miles or 12 months of ownership, whichever is first
The automaker and dealership may blame one another, or they may try to offer a low settlement that doesn’t approach the claim’s value. Bringing a claim about lemon law used cars is a complex process, and you’ll need assistance from an attorney throughout the case.
Prompt Action is Crucial
It’s important to keep in mind that claimants only have 12 months or 12,000 miles to act on a lemon law complaint. That’s a short time frame, but it’s state law. If you bought a vehicle that ends up being a lemon, you have options other than the lemon law. You can also submit a claim under the Magnusson Moss Warranty Act, or you can pursue a claim for deceptive or unfair business practices.
Both statutes provide for a longer period within which claims can be brought, and unlike Illinois’ lemon law, both allow you to recoup attorney’s fees. Get a free case review by visiting Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center®.